first_imgPrime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, while performing the duties of Head of State, swore in several Mayors and Deputy Mayors today in the Credentials Room at the Ministry of the Presidency.Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and other Ministers of Government with the newly elected Mayors from across GuyanaAfter administering the Oath of office, the acting Head of State encouraged the newly elected Mayors and Deputy Mayors to work closely with central Government to enhance their townships. He noted that the townships “depend on [central government] for subvention and support in many ways.”“Some of the areas that you would be managing as townships, border on areas that are controlled by the central Government so you have to work with your central Government to promote those programmes that you have planned.”The Prime Minister noted that having a Town Council in every administrative region allows for a decentralised model of Government and allows for the strengthening of local democracy. He explained that this decentralisation also allows for the provision of certain services such as the issuance of birth and marriage certificates, passports and documents important to their livelihood and businesses within far-flung communities.Newly elected Mayor of Georgetown, Pandit Ubraj Narine taking the oath of office before Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo on FridayHe also urged the elected officials to develop a sense of regional pride among their constituents.The Prime Minister remarked that the new batch of Mayors and Deputy Mayors reflect Guyana’s rich strands of diversity and ethnicity as it includes persons from different religious backgrounds, genders and race.last_img read more