Vermont Family Network gets $189,052 from US Department of Education for parent training

first_img### The US Department of Education today announced that the Vermont Family Network will receive $189,052 in a special education Parent Training and Information Center (PTI) grant to help parents ensure that their children receive a free, appropriate public education as guaranteed by federal law.  The Education Department will award a total of $5.3 million for 2011 to operate 19 special education PTI centers in 13 states and Puerto Rico.                       ‘Parent Centers help families better understand their child’s disability and can often connect them to important local, state and national resources,’ said U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.  ‘These centers will play a vital role in empowering parents and families to learn about appropriate early interventions and special education services.’             Parent information centers provide parents with the training and information they need to work with special education professionals in meeting the early intervention and special needs of children with disabilities.  Many parent information centers work closely with state and local school systems to engage parents in working collaboratively to improve outcomes for students with disabilities.             For a list of Education Department-funded special education parent information and training centers, visit www.parentcenternetwork.org(link is external).             The following is a list of the grants the Department announced and the states or audience that they will serve, including the contact information for the local project directors and the amount of each award:             Parent Training and Information Centers: ·         AK ‘ Stone Soup Group, Kelly Donnelly, kellyd@stonesoupgroup.org(link sends e-mail), $263,115·         AL ‘ Alabama Parent Education Center, Jeana Winter, jwinter@alabamaparentcenter.com(link sends e-mail), $291,281·         CO ‘ PEAK Parent Center, Julie Harmon, Jharmon@peakparent.org(link sends e-mail), $279,445·         FL Region 1 ‘ Florida Network on Disabilities, Nicole Brown, Nicole@fndfl.org(link sends e-mail), $169,645·         FL Region 2 ‘ Central Florida Parent Center, Eileen Gilley, Eileen@cflparents.org(link sends e-mail), $491,973·         FL Region 3 ‘ Florida Network on Disabilities, Margarita Montalvo, margarita@fndfl.org(link sends e-mail), $330,801·         KY ‘ Kentucky Special Parent Involvement Network, Paulette Logsdon, paulette@kyspin.com(link sends e-mail), $258,607·         MD ‘ The Parents’ Place of Maryland, Josie Thomas, josie@ppmd.org(link sends e-mail), $319,295·         ME ‘ Maine Parent Federation, Janice LaChance, jlachance@mpf.org(link sends e-mail), $188,545·         ND ‘ Pathfinder Parent Center, Cathy Haarstad, ptidirector@srt.com(link sends e-mail), $204,947·         NE ‘ PTI Nebraska, Glenda Davis, gdavis@pti-nebraska.org(link sends e-mail), $224,894·         NV ‘ Nevada P.E.P., Karen Taycher, ktaycher@nvpep.org(link sends e-mail), $202,813·         NY Region 1 ‘ Advocates for Children of New York, Anna Espada, aespada@advocatesforchildren.org(link sends e-mail), $210,813·         NY Region 1 ‘ Resources for Children with Special Needs, Rachel Howard, rhoward@resourcesnyc.org(link sends e-mail), $210,813·         NY Region 1 ‘ Singeria, Godfrey Rivera, grivera@sinergiany.org(link sends e-mail), $210,813·         NY Region 2 ‘ The Advocacy Center, Barb Klein, klein@advocacycenter.com(link sends e-mail), $524,874·         PR ‘ APNI, Mariel Cabrera, mcabrera@apnipr.org(link sends e-mail), $271,950·         VT ‘ Vermont Family Network, Christine Kilpatrick, christine.kilpatrick@vtfn.org(link sends e-mail), $189,052·         WI ‘ Wisconsin FACETS, Jan Serak, jserak@wifacets.org(link sends e-mail), $438,408last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *