SHSU’s Lindsey McLeod Headlines All-Conference Teams as Player of the Year

first_img SS Amanda Gianelloni4 Nicholls Sr. Napoleonville, La. 2019 All-Southland Conference Softball Teams First Team OF Kaylee Lopez McNeese Fr. Indian Bayou, La. 3B Caitlin Garcia Nicholls So. Spring, Texas P Ashley Kriesel Stephen F. Austin Jr. Houston, Texas FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State’s Lindsey McLeod is the 2019 Southland Conference Player of the Year, the league announced Tuesday along with its all-conference teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition.In her final season with the Bearkats, McLeod continues to build upon an already impressive senior campaign. In addition to her Player of the Year award, the Austin, Texas, native was named Southland Pitcher of the Year and a First Team All-Conference selection. McLeod’s all-conference nod marks the second of her career and comes after pushing her Sam Houston State squad to a regular-season title and a No. 1 seed in the 2019 Southland Softball Tournament. The senior has created quite the resumé throughout the 2019 season, ranking 14th nationally for hits allowed per seven innings (3.98). She has retired 231 batters while posting a 1.65 ERA and an 18-8 record. McLeod’s nine shutout victories rank 13th in the nation and are accompanied by four saves.Joining McLeod among individual superlative winners is Bearkat head coach Garrett Valis, who led his Sam Houston State squad to a 22-5 conference record. Valis was named Coach of the Year after claiming the regular-season championship in just his first season at the helm for the Bearkats.Stephen F. Austin’s Margarita Corona was named Hitter of the Year after charging the Ladyjacks’ offense with 12 home runs on 61 hits and a .384 batting average. Corona also accounted for a .673 slugging percentage on 53 starts and appearances. Fellow Ladyjack Kassidy Wilbur earned the league’s Freshman of the Year award, doing so in convincing fashion. In just her first collegiate season, Wilbur has retired 240 batters over 205 innings for a scorching 1.81 ERA. The freshman has registered five shutout victories to go along with a 19-13 record. Corona was voted a First Team All-Conference selection, while Wilbur found her way onto the second-team roster. Both Corona and Wilbur are making their first career-appearances on the All-Southland teams.Lamar’s Jade Lewis is the Southland’s Newcomer of the Year after joining the Cardinals leading her team with a .312 batting average. Lewis has registered 15 extra-base hits and 22 RBI, boosting Lamar to a 14-13 conference record. The junior has compiled 54 starts on 56 appearances while leading her team with 49 hits.  Lewis was awarded a spot on the All-Southland First Team as the designated player.The 2019 Southland Conference Softball Tournament begins Tuesday, May 7 at Lady Demon Diamond in Natchitoches, La. First-round matchups will feature the tournament’s bottom four seeds playing in a single-elimination game. Following the two opening-round matchups, the tournament will then shift to a double-elimination bracket. No. 3 McNeese and No. 4 Stephen F. Austin await the round-one winners. No. 1 Sam Houston State and No. 2 Nicholls have a double-round bye and await the winners of games three and game four.Leading off the tournament is a matchup between the tournament’s No. 5-seeded Southeastern Louisiana and No. 8-seeded Central Arkansas. First pitch between the Bears and the Lady Lions is slated for 11 a.m. CT Tuesday morning, with the winner advancing to take on No. 4 Stephen F. Austin.Games 1-11 are slated to be streamed live on the Southland Digital Network, which is available via and on Southland Conference apps. Tony Taglavore, Jason Pugh and Patrick Netherton will share play-by-play duties.Coverage transitions to the ESPN family of networks for the championship round. Game 12 is scheduled to receive national television coverage on ESPNU, in addition to streaming availability on and ESPN apps. Four-time Louisiana sportscaster of the year Lyn Rollins and two-time NFCA All-American Tori Vidales will call the action for the title stage. Coverage for Game 13 (if necessary) will shift to ESPN3, online-only through and ESPN apps. OF Linsey Tomlinson Abilene Christian Jr. Huffman, Texas C Kali Clement2 Nicholls Sr. Thibodaux, La. Individual AwardsPlayer of the Year: Lindsey McLeod, Sam Houston StateHitter of the Year: Margarita Corona, Stephen F. AustinPitcher of the Year: Lindsey McLeod, Sam Houston StateFreshman of the Year: Kassidy Wilbur, Stephen F. AustinNewcomer of the Year: Jade Lewis, LamarCoach of the Year: Garrett Valis, Sam Houston State OF Madisen Blackford Southeastern Louisiana So. Des Moines, Iowa P Alley McDonald Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Whitehouse, Tenn. OF Justyce McClain4 McNeese Sr. Phoenix, Ariz. Third Team 3B Mima Doucet Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Lafayette, La. OF Shannon Klaus Lamar Jr. Cedar Creek, Texas 1B Margarita Corona Stephen F. Austin Sr. Tucson, Ariz. UT Morgan Felts2 Central Arkansas Sr. Conway, Ark. 2B Libby Morris2 Central Arkansas Sr. Grove, Okla. SS Tiffany Thompson2 Sam Houston State Jr. Montgomery, Texas 2B Bryana Novegil Stephen F. Austin So. Houston, Texas C Aubree Turbeville McNeese Sr. Mesquite, Texas 3B Cylla Hill Central Arkansas Jr. Henryetta, Okla. Honorable Mention – Catcher: Shaina Amir, Lamar. First Base: Rebecca Skains, Southeastern Louisiana. Second Base: Jaquelyn Ramon, Southeastern Louisiana. Third Base: Kyndal Kutac, Sam Houston State. Shortstop: Demi Janak, Houston Baptist; Lindsey Rizzo, Southeastern Louisiana. Outfield: Blair Clayton, Abilene Christian; Sheridan Fisher, Sam Houston State; Toni Perrin, McNeese. Pitcher: Saleen Flores, McNeese; Rio Sanchez, Central Arkansas. DP Taylar Fuselier Sam Houston State R-Jr. Magnolia, Texas OF Elise Vincent Northwestern State Jr. Maurice, La. OF Kayla Crutchmer Central Arkansas Jr. Tulsa, Okla. OF Kasey Frederick3 Nicholls Sr. Bridge City, Texas OF Megan McDonald Sam Houston State Jr. Georgetown, Texas 2B Cayla Jones2 Northwestern State So. Missouri City, Texas C Ella Manzer Southeastern Louisiana So. Alexandria, La. 1B Samantha Dares Nicholls Jr. Metairie, La. UT E.C. Delafield Northwestern State So. Stonewall, La. 2 Two-time all-conference selection3 Three-time all-conference selection4 Four-time all-conference selection P Megan Landry3 Nicholls Sr. Pierre Part, La. 1B Kaylyn Shepherd2 Central Arkansas Jr. Mechanicsville, Va. SS Cori McCrary McNeese R-Jr. McCarley, Miss. DP Jade Lewis Lamar Jr. Mont Belvieu, Texas P Alexsandra Flores McNeese Jr. Lufkin, Texas 2B Brooke Malia Sam Houston State So. Houston, Texas P Kassidy Wilbur Stephen F. Austin Fr. Bridge City, Texas DP Samantha Bradley Abilene Christian So. Azle, Texas P Lindsey McLeod2 Sam Houston State Sr. Austin, Texas Pos. Name University Class Hometown UT Sammi Thomas Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Fr. Buford, Ga. Second Team NOTE: Tie in voting created need for additional pitcher on 2nd team, additional 2nd baseman on 3rd team.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *